Day 1: conquering a high-altitude lake

lac-du-pontet-la-meije ©Alpes Photographies
©Alpes Photographies
It's time to get into the swing of things and get some altitude, as the view will be all the better for it.

Without much difficulty, we head towards Lac du Pontet and the Aiguillon ridge from Villar d'Arène. The Aiguillon loop (8 km, 500 m ascent) offers a 360° view of all the mountainous terrain around La Meije. The sparkling waters of Lac du Pontet will refresh summer afternoons. Despite its easy access, this almost overflowing lake is home to many wild animals. Indeed, high-pitched cries will spring from the tufts of grass, and griffon vultures will cast shadows as they take to the skies. By the way, can you find the groundhog?

Day 2: Small or large animals

After a brief glimpse of the mid-range mountains with yesterday's hike, we're keen to learn more about the world around us, and in particular to observe the inhabitants of the heights.

We look for marmots in the morning, chamois in the evening, ibex in the midday sun and owls at dusk. To do this, we leave with a mountain guide, who knows the area like the back of his hand and will be able to answer any questions. A great day exploring new paths, keeping our eyes and ears wide open, on the lookout in case a marmot crosses our path. Chamois, marmots, birds of prey, insects and small animals will have no more secrets at the end of the day.

Back from a day of frolicking in the mountain pastures, we stop off at the Molières farm at the summit of La Grave. We meet up with Céline and Martin's goats to watch them being milked and pick up some cheese for our evening meal.

Marmots - Crevasse trail © T. Blais T.Blais

Day 3: Above and below the glacier

We take advantage of the limpid morning light to take a discovery walk on the Girose glacier.

 To reach the glacier at an altitude of 3,200m, board the Glaciers de la Meije cable cars for a journey through the air. Forty-five minutes to contemplate the plains and plateaus of the south-facing slope, and the rugged, rocky north-facing slope. With our guide, we approach the glacier. It's time to put on our crampons to grip the snow and ice and hike with agility. We rope up, and it's finally time to feel the crampons sink into the snow and hear it crunch under the weight of each step. Despite rope and crampons, you feel very small as you pass the gaping hole and sharp ice of an open crevasse.

After this walk on the glacier, we explore its interior in the ice cave. Next to the 3200m station, you can stop for a coffee or a pizza, a chance to enjoy the view for longer while watching the ducks circling in the sky from the high-altitude restaurant.

We take the cable car back down and stop at the intermediate station to explore the area a little further. From here, a balcony path leads to the Puy Vachier lake and the Chancel refuge. Either return to the cable car or walk down to the village of La Grave.

Shelters - Refuge Chancel T. BRUAS
Thomas BRUAS

Day 4: Via corda to the mines

Via Ferrata MartinCocher
Because anything out of the ordinary is easier to remember, today we're off to discover the old Grand Clot mines, set deep in the cliffs at the foot of the Emparis plateau.

We're off to explore the small or large course for a real moment of happiness shared with the whole family, a day under the sign of verticality, heritage and the history of the miners. Put on your harness, sneakers and helmet to prepare for the morning's adventure. The tricky route takes us up a series of switchbacks to the entrance to the mines. Between galleries, minerals and mining equipment, the history of yesteryear is revealed as we progress vertically. Here, everything has remained intact, retracing over 500 years of silver mining history. Throughout the visit, we learn more about what it was like to work in the mines, with a presentation of the tools and different extraction techniques used by the miners to recover the ore. It's up to us to observe and recognize, with a magnifying glass, the different rocks such as granite and galena.

After an exhilarating day climbing the foothills of the Emparis plateau, we prepare a tasty snack to enjoy on the banks of the Romanche. The Arboretum park has picnic tables shaded by larch trees, barbecues and games for children.

Day 5 & 6: A night on the Alps

The crevasse & arsine trail for the whole family
©T. BLAIS
Today, the bags are a little heavier because we're leaving for a two-day hike with a night in a refuge.

We remembered to take water, warm clothes for the evening, a first-aid kit and something to picnic on the trail. From the Arsine parking lot, it's a short walk to the green haven that is the alpe de Villar d'Arène. It's a gentle start, but there's a short climb before we reach the plateau and enter the Ecrins National Park. It won't be long before we see the refuges. Indeed, two refuges offer a choice of places to spend the night. But before it gets dark, there's still time to walk around a bit more, maybe even to see the glacial lakes and moraines of the Col d'Arsine. Sleeping in a refuge is the ideal way to immerse yourself in nature and live to the rhythm of the sun. Dinner is served around 6:30 p.m., and that's just as well, because everyone is starving after a long day on the trails.

After a refreshing night's sleep, we're up early to perhaps see some marmots still asleep.

Once we've packed our bags, we're off to discover the tumultuous waters of the Romanche as far as the Valfourche bridge. Along the way, we come across a small lake with crystal-clear water. The water here is not far from the glaciers, and its temperature will deter many from dipping a toe in. Surrounded by giants such as Pic de Chamoissière (3207 m) and Roche Méane (3712 m), we find a rock for a picnic and soak up the view. Soon, it's time to return to the valley, following the course of the Romanche, and the authentic mountain villages.

les-hameaux-la-grave
©Alpes Photographies
the blog

You'll also like

CONQUERING THE IZOARD PASS IN SNOOC

CONQUERING THE IZOARD PASS IN SNOOC

See more
THOMAS BONNET, A DEMANDING TAMPER

THOMAS BONNET, A DEMANDING TAMPER

See more
PETITE FERME DES REGAINS - THE EDUCATIONAL FARM OF ALPINE TRADITIONS

PETITE FERME DES REGAINS - THE EDUCATIONAL FARM OF ALPINE TRADITIONS

See more
MAGDA'S WINTER MUST-HAVES

MAGDA'S WINTER MUST-HAVES

See more
Mountaineering - the mountain at your fingertips

Mountaineering - the mountain at your fingertips

The high mountains and mountaineering are part of a fascinating universe, in symbiosis with nature, we evolve on a rugged and mineral terrain to climb ever higher and enjoy a moment where time stops in a silent and mysterious landscape.
See more

Jour 1 : à la conquête d’un lac d’altitude

lac-du-pontet-la-meije ©Alpes Photographies
©Alpes Photographies
Il est l’heure de se mettre en jambe et de prendre de l’altitude, la vue n’en sera que plus belle.

Sans grande difficulté, on prend la direction du lac du Pontet et de la crête de l’Aiguillon depuis Villar d’Arène. La boucle de l’Aiguillon (8 km et 500m de dénivelé positif) permet d’avoir un point de vue à 360° tout autour de soi, sur les différents terrains montagneux du pays de La Meije. L’eau éclatante du lac du Pontet saura rafraîchir les après-midi d’été. Malgré son accès facile, ce lac presque à débordement, est la maison de beaucoup d’animaux sauvages. En effet, des cris aiguës jailliront des touffes d’herbes et les vautours fauves feront de l’ombre lors de leurs grandes envolées. D’ailleurs, saurez-vous retrouver la marmotte ?

Jour 2 : Petits ou grands animaux

Après un petit aperçu de la moyenne montagne avec la randonnée d’hier, on veut en apprendre plus sur le monde qui nous entoure et plus particulièrement observer les habitants des hauteurs.

On cherche les marmottes le matin, les chamois le soir, les bouquetins au soleil de midi et les chouettes au crépuscule. Pour cela, on part avec un accompagnateur en montagne, qui connaît le coin comme sa poche et saura répondre à toutes les questions. Une belle journée à explorer de nouveaux chemins, on garde les yeux et oreilles grandes ouvertes, à l’affût au cas où une marmotte traverserait notre route. Chamois, marmottes, rapaces, insectes et petites bêtes n’auront plus de secrets à la fin de la journée.

De retour d’une journée à gambader dans les alpages, on fait un tour à la ferme des Molières, à la cime de La Grave. On retrouve les chèvres de Céline et Martin pour assister à la traite et prendre du fromage pour le repas du soir.

Marmottes - Sentier des crevasses © T. Blais © T.Blais

Jour 3 : Les dessous et dessus du glacier

On profite de la lumière limpide du matin pour faire une balade découverte sur le glacier de la Girose.

 Pour rejoindre le glacier à 3200m d’altitude, on embarque dans les télécabines des téléphériques des Glaciers de la Meije pour un voyage dans les airs. Quarante-cinq minutes à contempler les plaines et plateaux du versant sud ainsi que le versant nord et son côté accidenté et rocheux. Avec notre guide, on se rapproche du glacier. C’est le moment d’enfiler les crampons afin d’adhérer à la neige et à la glace pour randonner en toute agilité. On s’encorde, et l’heure est enfin venue de sentir les crampons s’enfoncer dans la neige et d’entendre son craquement sous le poids de chaque pas. Malgré la corde et les crampons, on se sent tout petit lorsqu’on passe à côté du trou béant et de la glace vive d’une crevasse ouverte.

Après cette balade sur le glacier, on explore son intérieur dans la grotte de glace. À côté de la gare de 3200m, on peut s’arrêter pour un café ou une pizza, une occasion de profiter de la vue plus longtemps en regardant les chocards tournoyer dans le ciel depuis le restaurant d’altitude.

On redescend par le téléphérique et pour découvrir un peu plus le domaine, on s’arrête à la gare intermédiaire. De là, on rejoint le lac de Puy Vachier et le refuge de Chancel par un sentier en balcon. Soit on fait un aller-retour pour retrouver le téléphérique ou alors on descend à pied jusqu’au village de La Grave.

Refuges - Refuge Chancel T. BRUAS
©Thomas BRUAS

Jour 4 : Via corda vers les mines

Via Ferrata © MartinCocher
Parce que tout ce qui sort de l’ordinaire se grave plus facilement dans nos mémoires, aujourd’hui on part à la découverte des anciennes mines du Grand Clot, situées en pleine falaise au pied du plateau d’Emparis.

On part explorer le petit ou le grand parcours pour un vrai moment de bonheur partagé en famille, une journée sous le signe de la verticalité, du patrimoine, et de l’histoire des mineurs. On enfile baudrier, baskets et casque pour se préparer à l’aventure de cette matinée. C’est par un jeu de vires que ce cheminement rusé nous conduira à l’entrée des mines. Entre galeries, minéraux, équipements d’extraction, l’histoire d’antan se dévoile au fur et à mesure de notre progression verticale. Ici, tout est resté intact, retraçant plus de 500 ans de l’histoire des mines d’argent. Tout au long de la visite, on comprend davantage ce qu’était le travail dans les mines avec la présentation des outils et des différentes techniques d’extraction qu’utilisaient les mineurs pour récupérer le minerai. À nous d’observer et de reconnaître, avec une loupe, les différentes roches comme le granit ou encore la galène.

Après une journée haute en émotions à grimper sur les contreforts du plateau d’Emparis, on se prépare un bon goûter pour aller le savourer au bord de la Romanche. Le parc de l’Arboretum a des tables de pique-nique ombragées par les mélèzes, des barbecues à disposition et des jeux pour enfants.

Jour 5 & 6 : Une nuit à l’alpe

Le sentier des crevasses & arsine en famille
©T. BLAIS
Aujourd’hui, les sacs sont un peu plus lourds parce qu’on part pour deux jours de randonnée avec une nuit en refuge.

On a bien pensé à prendre de l’eau, des affaires chaudes pour le soir, une trousse de premier secours et de quoi pique-niquer sur le sentier. Depuis le parking d’Arsine, une petite marche nous mène au havre de verdure qu’est l’alpe de Villar d’Arène. Ça commence tout en douceur, mais une petite côte nous attend pour permettre d’atteindre le plateau et de rentrer dans le Parc national des Écrins. On ne va pas tarder à apercevoir les refuges. En effet, deux refuges laissent le choix pour se poser pour la nuit. Mais avant la nuit, on a le temps de marcher encore un peu, peut-être même d’aller voir les lacs glaciaires et les moraines du col d’Arsine. Dormir en refuge est idéal pour s’immerger dans la nature et vivre au rythme du soleil. Le repas du soir est autour de 18h30, et ça tombe bien, parce que tout le monde est affamé après une longue journée à crapahuter sur les sentiers.

Après une nuit réparatrice, on se lève tôt pour peut-être voir des marmottes encore endormies.

Une fois le sac fait, on part à la découverte des eaux tumultueuses de la Romanche jusqu’au pont de Valfourche. Sur la route, on croisera un petit lac à l’eau cristalline et pure. L’eau, à cet endroit, n’est vraiment pas très loin des glaciers et sa température en dissuadera plus d’un d’y tremper l’orteil. Entouré des géants comme le Pic de Chamoissière (3207 m) ou encore Roche Méane (3712 m), on trouve un caillou pour le pique-nique et on s’imprègne de la vue. Bientôt, il sera l’heure de regagner la vallée en suivant le cours de la Romanche, et retrouver les villages authentiques de montagne.

les-hameaux-la-grave
©Alpes Photographies
le blog

Vous aimerez aussi

Balade autour de la Clarée

Balade autour de la Clarée

Voir plus
TROIS SOMMETS À 3000

TROIS SOMMETS À 3000

Voir plus
LES ITINÉRAIRES NORDIQUES PARTAGÉS

LES ITINÉRAIRES NORDIQUES PARTAGÉS

Voir plus
LES GESTES ÉCO-RESPONSABLES EN HIVER

LES GESTES ÉCO-RESPONSABLES EN HIVER

Voir plus
THOMAS BONNET, UN DAMEUR EXIGEANT

THOMAS BONNET, UN DAMEUR EXIGEANT

Voir plus